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Employment and labor practices are governed by state and 
federal laws, administrative rules, and case law. Some laws 
affect only a small group of employers, while others apply to 
every employer—whether a private company, government 
agency, religious institution, or nonprofit enterprise. 
Likewise, some laws apply to all employees while others 
apply only to certain employees. This background brief 
summarizes some of the federal and state laws that affect 
Oregon workplaces. More detailed information concerning 
employment and labor practices is available in the following 
background briefs: COLLECTIVE BARGAINING, PUBLIC 

CONTRACTING, PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

(PERS), UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE, and WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION 

WORKER CLASSIFICATION 

A worker’s classification as an independent contractor or an 
employee may have significant consequences for both the 
party paying for services and the party performing the 
services. Improper classification of workers can lead to 
increased business taxes, wrongful tax avoidance, 
underfunded worker benefits, and unfair wage practices.  

Many employment laws cover employees only, and 
misclassification of workers as non-employees denies workers the 
protections of those laws. An employer’s tax liability is 
determined by the worker’s employment status. Employers must 
pay state and federal unemployment tax, social security tax, and 
workers’ compensation/disability premiums on behalf of their 
employees, while a hiring party is not required to make any of 
those payments for an independent contractor.  
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Test for Independent Contractor 

A worker who provides services for remuneration generally will be considered an employee by the 
courts and state regulatory agencies, unless that worker meets the criteria required of an 
“independent contractor” (or other exception) with the emphasis falling on the word 
“independent.” In making classification determinations, the courts and regulatory agencies weigh 
certain facts to determine whether the worker in question is: (1) free from direction and control; 
or (2) as a matter of economic reality, independent of the business to which services are being 
provided.1  

Consequences of Worker Misclassification 

 
Oregon Employment Department audits in 2016 identified 3,400 misclassified workers and 
$20,237,668 in unreported payroll.2 

                                                 
1 State of Oregon, “Oregon Independent Contractors: Employee or Independent Contractor,” 
<http://www.oregon.gov/ic/independent/Pages/EE-IC.aspx>, visited November 20, 2017.  
2 Interagency Compliance Network Report to the Oregon Legislature (April 2017),  
<https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen_engagement/Reports/2017%20ICN%20Legislative%20Report_2017_04
%20FINAL.pdf>, visited November 20, 2017. 

 

Misclassification of 
workers has consequences 
for employers, employees, 
independent contractors, 

and state agencies. 
 
 

Employers 
• Employer fails to maintain 

adequate records of hours worked 
and wages earned  

• Employer gains unfair business 
advantage by not purchasing 
required workers’ compensation 
insurance or paying payroll taxes 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Workers 
• Employer fails to meet its 

obligations to pay employees 
minimum wages and overtime 

• Employer fails to provide 
employees with rest and meal 
periods 

• Employer fails to permit 
employees to accrue and use sick 
time 

• Worker injured at work fails to 
receive timely benefits 

• Worker does not receive 
unemployment insurance benefits 
when out of work 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

State Agencies 
• Wages are reported incorrectly to 

Oregon Employment Department 
and Department of Revenue  

• Employer fails to pay all required 
unemployment insurance taxes 

• Employer fails to withhold tax or 
pay all required transit taxes  

• Department of Revenue relies on 
misclassified individual to file a 
personal income tax return at the 
end of the year 

• Misclassified individual claims 
items as expenses in personal 
income tax return that would not 
be allowed if properly classified 

• Cost to address worker's injury 
may be paid from public funds 

http://www.oregon.gov/ic/independent/Pages/EE-IC.aspx
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen_engagement/Reports/2017%20ICN%20Legislative%20Report_2017_04%20FINAL.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen_engagement/Reports/2017%20ICN%20Legislative%20Report_2017_04%20FINAL.pdf
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Interagency Compliance Network (ICN) 

The Legislative Assembly created Oregon’s Interagency Compliance Network (ICN) in 2009 to 
promote proper classification of employees, voluntary compliance with tax and employment laws, 
and education to the public.3 The ICN is comprised of seven state agencies that share information, 
collaborate on enforcement, and conduct educational outreach in accordance with Oregon 
Revised Statute (ORS) 670.700. The agencies included in the ICN are the Oregon Employment 
Department, Department of Revenue, Department of Consumer and Business Services, Bureau of 
Labor and Industries (BOLI), Construction Contractors Board, Landscape Contractors Board, and 
the Department of Justice. Every two years, the ICN is required to report to the Legislative 
Assembly on its activities, funding, and revenue impact.4   

EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION 

Employment discrimination laws seek to prevent discrimination by removing race, color, religion, 
sex, sexual orientation, national origin, marital status, age, or disability as standards for 
employment or barriers to employment. In addition, the laws provide a remedy for persons who 
experience unlawful discrimination or face retaliation for filing or supporting discrimination 
complaints. 

The Civil Rights Division of BOLI enforces these state laws to ensure that job seekers and 
employees have equal access to jobs, career schools, promotions, and a work environment free 
from discrimination and harassment. Individuals alleging a civil rights violation can file a 
complaint with BOLI or take their case to court.  

Affirmative Action 

Affirmative action is defined by Oregon statute as “a method of eliminating the effects of past and 
present discrimination, intended or unintended, on the basis of race, religion, national origin, age, 
sex, marital status, or physical or mental disabilities.”5  

All state agencies are required to follow affirmative action plans as defined by state law. The state 
has separate affirmative action laws that apply to state personnel practices, public contracting, 
executive appointments, higher education, community colleges, and economic development. 
Private employers are not required to adopt affirmative action plans. 

 

                                                 
3 Id. 
4 In 2015, the ICN completed eight unemployment insurance and payroll audits, identifying 112 misclassified workers 
and $12,017,388 in total unreported payroll. In 2016, the ICN completed nine audits and identified 217 misclassified 
workers and $13,563,149 in unreported payroll. Interagency Compliance Network Report to the Oregon Legislature 
(April 2017),  
<https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen_engagement/Reports/2017%20ICN%20Legislative%20Report_2017_04
%20FINAL.pdf>, visited November 20, 2017. 
5 ORS 243.305. 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen_engagement/Reports/2017%20ICN%20Legislative%20Report_2017_04%20FINAL.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen_engagement/Reports/2017%20ICN%20Legislative%20Report_2017_04%20FINAL.pdf


BACKGROUND BRIEF 

 
4 

EMPLOYMENT AND LABOR  January 10, 2018 

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE 

Public Contracting 

Effective October 6, 2017, state public contracting agencies are prohibited from entering a 
contract worth $150,000 or more, with some exceptions, unless the contractor certifies in writing 
that it has a policy and practice to prevent sexual harassment, sexual assault, and discrimination 
against members of protected classes.6  

Pay Equity 

Existing wage and hour statutes prohibit employers from paying a lower wage rate to employees of 
one sex than to the opposite sex for work of comparable character when the work requires 
comparable skills unless the difference results from a nondiscriminatory merit or seniority system 
currently in place or is based in good faith on factors other than sex. An employee who was paid in 
violation of the statute has a private right of action for recovery of unpaid wages due for the prior 
one-year period and an equal amount in damages. Reasonable attorney fees may be awarded to the 
prevailing plaintiff. 

Effective October 6, 2017, employers are also prohibited from seeking the salary history of an 
applicant or employee from a current or former employer.7 The objective of this prohibition is to 
avoid perpetuating past discrimination that may have resulted in lower salaries. However, it does 
not preclude applicants from voluntarily disclosing salary history when negotiating compensation. 
Beginning on January 1, 2024, applicants may file a civil action against an employer alleged to have 
sought the salary history of an applicant.8 

Three additional changes to the pay equity requirements will go into effect on January 1, 20199: 

1. Pay equity requirements will be extended to people based on the following protected 
classes: race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, marital status, 
disability, age, and veteran status.  

2. Employers will be prohibited from using salary history to screen applicants or to determine 
compensation. 

3. Additional administrative and judicial remedies for pay equity violations and retaliation for 
wage claims will become available, including compensatory and punitive damages and jury 
trial. However, effective October 6, 2017, compensatory and punitive damages may be 
precluded if an employer demonstrates in a pre-trial motion that it completed an equal-pay 
analysis within the three years preceding the claim, eliminated pay differentials for the 
plaintiff, and made reasonable substantial progress toward eliminating the wage 
differentials for the protected class asserted by the plaintiff. 

 

                                                 
6 House Bill 3060 (2017); Chapter 212, 2017 Laws. 
7 House Bill 2005 (2017); Chapter 197, 2017 Laws. 
8 Id. 
9 Id. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/HB3060
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0212.pdf
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/HB2005
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0197.pdf
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WAGE AND HOUR LAWS 

Both state and federal laws govern employee wages and hours, including minimum wages, 
overtime requirements, wage payments, working conditions, work schedules, child labor, and farm 
and forest labor contracting. Generally, when the laws of both jurisdictions apply, employers are 
required to comply with the law that is most beneficial to the employee.  

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) Wage and Hour Division provides technical 
assistance to employers about compliance with employment laws. Employers are required to post 
information about federal and state employment laws in their workplaces. Employees alleging a 
violation may file a claim with BOLI or, for certain violations, may take their case to court. 

Minimum Wage 

The federal minimum wage is the default wage in all states for most occupations that are involved 
in interstate commerce. A state may choose to set a minimum wage above or below the federal 
rate, but minimum wage earners receive the higher of the two amounts. States also may set a 
different minimum wage rate for specific occupations or employee classes not covered by the 
federal rate. The current federal minimum wage, set in 2009, is $7.25 per hour.  

In 2002, Oregon voters approved a ballot measure to increase the state minimum wage to $6.90, 
with annual increases tied to inflation. Due to the inflation adjustments, the minimum wage had 
increased to $9.25 by January 2016.  

The legislature 
moved away from a 
statewide minimum 
wage in 2016 and 
instead set regional 
minimum wages, 
phasing in increases 
over a seven-year 
period with 
increases occurring 
on July 1 of each 
year, as shown in 
the table to the 
left.10  

                                                 
10 Senate Bill 1532 (2016); Chapter 012, 2016 Laws. The minimum wages in the following states, effective July 1, 
2017, provide a point of comparison:  Washington, D.C. ($12.50 – highest in the nation), Massachusetts and 
Washington ($11.00), California ($10.50), Colorado ($9.30), Nevada ($8.25), Idaho ($7.25). Five states have no state 
minimum wage law: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee.  

2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Urban Counties $9.75 $10.25 $10.75 $11.25 $12.00 $12.75 $13.50

Portland Metro UGB $9.75 $11.25 $12.00 $12.50 $13.25 $14.00 $14.75

Nonurban Counties $9.50 $10.00 $10.50 $11.00 $11.50 $12.00 $12.50
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http://www.oregon.gov/BOLI/TA/pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/BOLI/TA/pages/index.aspx
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Measures/Overview/SB1532
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2016orLaw0012.pdf
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Following 2022, the minimum wages for urban counties will continue to grow according to annual 
adjustments in the Consumer Price Index (CPI); the Portland Metro Urban Growth Boundary 
(UGB) minimum will be $1.25 higher than the urban county rate, and the nonurban counties will 
be $1.00 lower than the rate of urban counties. 

Exceptions to the minimum wage law are listed in ORS 653.020. Examples include professional 
salaried employees and employees in specific occupations, such as taxicab operators, in-home care 
providers, volunteer firefighters, and some agricultural workers.  

Oregon, along with six other states, requires the same minimum wage rate for tipped and non-
tipped workers.11 The remaining states allow a “tip credit” against the minimum hourly rate, 
meaning that employers may count a limited amount of the worker’s tips toward the minimum 
wage.  

Overtime 

Mills, factories, and manufacturing establishments are subject to state maximum hours laws.12 
Currently, manufacturing employees may work up to three hours of overtime in a day, while 
cannery workers have no limit on their number of working hours. Effective January 1, 2018, 
mandatory work hours for employees of any mill, factory, cannery, or other manufacturing 
establishment is limited to 10 hours per day or 55 hours per workweek, but employees may 
consent to work up to 60 hours per workweek.13 Employers who process perishable products may 
claim an undue hardship exemption, permitting their employees to work up to 84 hours per 
workweek for four weeks, and up to 80 hours per workweek for an additional 17 weeks. The 
employer must notify BOLI of the undue hardship and receive written consent from each 
employee before requesting them to work more than 55 hours per workweek. Seafood processors 
are exempt from the weekly cap on mandatory overtime, but employers must pay those workers 
overtime for hours exceeding 10 per day and for hours exceeding 40 per workweek. Manufacturing 
employees are prohibited from working within 10 hours of their last eight-hour shift.   

Oregon and federal law requires most employers to pay overtime to eligible employees at one and 
one-half times the employee’s regular pay rate for hours worked exceeding 40 per workweek.14 
Oregon law also requires payment of daily overtime to certain employees at government agencies, 
hospitals, canneries, and manufacturing establishments.15 Specifically, manufacturing and food 
processing employees are due overtime for any work performed after 10 hours in any one day. 
Effective August 8, 2017, employers must calculate overtime wages for manufacturing and food 

                                                 
 
11 ORS 653.035. 
12 ORS 652.020. 
13 House Bill 3458; Chapter 685, 2017 Laws. 
14 ORS 652.020. 
15 ORS 653.265. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/HB3458
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0685.pdf
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processing workers on both a daily and weekly basis, and must pay employees the greater of the 
two amounts.16  

Agricultural workers engaged in agricultural employment for 100 percent of the workweek are 
exempt from overtime pay.17 However, employees of agricultural employers who work on products 
not grown by their employer, or who do not work within the statutory definition of agriculture, are 
due overtime after 40 hours per workweek.  

Employees alleging overtime violations may submit a complaint with BOLI or file a civil action in 
court.18 BOLI may assess a civil penalty on employers who coerce workers to work beyond the 
mandatory overtime limits or fail to pay overtime wages.19  

Payment of Wages 

Employers are required to set and maintain a regular payday schedule for their workers and pay 
them for all time worked.20 Effective January 1, 2017, employers must provide specified 
information on the employee’s paystub, including information about the employer (name, address, 
business identification number); the number of hours worked and rate of pay, including overtime 
and piece-rate information, if applicable; the gross and net pay; and the amount and purpose of 
each deduction.21 The employer may provide the paystub in an electronic format only if the 
employee expressly agrees and if the employee can store and print the paystub. 

An employer may not discriminate or retaliate against an employee who asks about or discusses the 
employee’s own or a co-worker’s wages or who makes a charge or files a complaint based on the 
disclosure of the wage information.22  

If an employee is fired or employment is terminated by mutual agreement, all earned wages are due 
no later than the end of the first business day after discharge or termination. An employee who 
quits with 48-hour notice must be paid on the last working day.23 If less notice is provided, the 
employer has five days (excluding weekends and holidays) or until the next payday, whichever 
occurs first, to provide the final paycheck.  

Employees owed final wages from an employer who closes the business and does not have 
sufficient funds to pay the wages can file a wage claim against the Oregon Wage Security Fund.24 
Workers can receive a maximum benefit of $4,000 from the Fund. Benefits are for unpaid wages 

                                                 
16 House Bill 3458; Chapter 685, 2017 Laws. 
17 ORS 653.020(1). 
18 ORS 653.055. 
19 ORS 652.900; ORS 653.256. 
20 ORS 652.120. 
21 Senate Bill 398 (2017); Chapter 333, 2017 Laws. 
22 ORS 659A.355. 
23 ORS 652.140. 
24 ORS 652.414. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/HB3458
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0685.pdf
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/SB398
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0333.pdf
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only and do not cover any accrued leave or benefits; state and federal taxes are deducted from the 
worker’s benefit amount. 

Existing remedies for wage enforcement often depend on the employee’s ability to provide an 
accurate timesheet of hours worked as evidence. Effective January 1, 2018, a private right of action 
is available to an employee who is compelled, coerced, or otherwise induced by their employer to 
create, file, or sign wage and hour documents that the employer knows are false.25 

Meal and Rest Breaks 

Oregon statute provides the BOLI Commissioner with rulemaking authority to set requirements 
for employee meal and rest periods.26 Employers generally are required to provide meal and rest 
breaks to employees, although there are exemptions.27 Employees who are statutorily exempt from 
minimum wage and overtime laws are also exempt from rest and meal period requirements.   

The basic requirements for meal periods are no less than 30 minutes for adult non-exempt 
employees who work at least six hours in one work period, with additional meal periods to be 
provided to employees who work more than 14 hours in a work period, and a maximum of three 
meal periods if the employee’s work period is between 22 and 24 hours. Meal periods are not 
required for employees whose work period is less than six hours. The employer does not have to 
pay for a meal period unless the nature of the job prevents the worker from being relieved of all 
duties during the work period.  

Employees must receive a rest break of at least 10 minutes (15 minutes for minors) for every 
segment of four hours or “major part thereof” worked, and the break must be taken in addition to 
and separately from required meal periods.28 Unlike meal periods, rest breaks must be paid by the 
employer. Employers are prohibited from allowing employees to add the rest period to a meal 
period or deduct rest periods from the beginning or end of an employee’s work shift.  

Exceptions from requirements for meal and rest periods apply to certain classes of agricultural 
employees, such as immediate family members, or those paid at a piece-rate basis and who meet 
the criteria for an exemption from paying minimum wage. Agricultural workers who are minors 
must receive at least a 30-minute meal period no later than five hours and one minute after 
reporting to work.  

Employers with at least 25 employees are also required to provide reasonable, unpaid rest periods 
to accommodate an employee needing to express milk for her child. The employer must make a 
reasonable effort to provide a private location for expressing milk within close proximity to the 
employee’s work area other than a public restroom or toilet stall.29 

                                                 
25 House Bill 3008 (2017); Chapter 211, 2017 Laws. 
26 ORS 653.040. 
27 OAR 839-020-0050. 
28 OAR 839-020-0050(6)(a). 
29 ORS 653.077(5). 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/HB3008
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0211.pdf
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Predictable Work Schedules 

Oregon is the first state in the country to require larger retail, food service, and hospitality 
employers to provide their hourly workers predictable schedules. Effective August 8, 2017, retail, 
food service, and hospitality employers with 500 or more employees worldwide must provide good 
faith estimates of employees’ work schedules and seven-days advanced written notice of work 
schedules.30 In addition, those employers must offer “predictability pay” when schedules change 
(unless exemptions apply)—compensation of up to one-half of the employee’s regular rate of pay for 
each scheduled hour that the employee does not work due to employer scheduling changes—and 
extra compensation for hours worked when fewer than 10 hours separates shifts (minimum rest 

period).  

Employers may maintain a 
standby list of employees 
who want to work additional 
hours as needed to address 
unanticipated customer 
needs or unexpected 
employee absences.  

Employers are prohibited 
from interfering with or 
retaliating against employees 
for exercising their rights 
regarding predictable work 
schedules, and employees 

have a private right of action and administrative remedies for violations. Local governments are 
preempted from regulating work schedules. 

Employment of Minors 

Minors, including all workers under the age of 18, are protected by the same employment laws that 
protect adults, including anti-discrimination, minimum wage, overtime, and meal and break laws.31 
Generally, a minor must be at least 14 years old to work in Oregon. An employer who hires a 
minor first must obtain an annual employment certificate from BOLI. However, child labor laws 
do not apply to minors delivering newspapers or performing domestic work in private residences 
(such as lawn-mowing or babysitting). 

Restrictions on work hours for minors differ by the age of the minor. Minors who are 16 or 17 
years old have the same maximum daily work hours as adults, but are limited to 44 work hours per 
week. For 14- and 15-year-old workers, restrictions depend on whether school is in session. As 

                                                 
30 Senate Bill 828 (2017); Chapter 691, 2017 Laws. 
31 See ORS 653.305 – 653.545. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/SB828
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0691.pdf
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discussed above, employers must give minors a paid rest period of at least 15 minutes for every 
work segment of four hours and a meal period of at least 30 minutes. Sixteen- and 17-year old 
workers may work through a paid meal period when business conditions require, but 14- and 15-
year-old workers must always be relieved of all duties during the meal period. All minors are 
prohibited from operating most types of power-driven machinery and performing tasks that involve 
exposure to dangerous worksites (e.g., mines and areas containing radioactive substances).  

Different rules apply to minors working in agriculture. For example, under certain circumstances, 
16- and 17-year-old workers can operate or assist in operating power-driven machinery in an 
agricultural warehouse. If certain requirements are met, 14- and 15-year-old workers who are 
enrolled in vocational agricultural programs are exempt from some of the hazardous occupations 
provisions. Minors as young as 9 years old may pick berries and beans in certain circumstances 
with their parents’ written consent. Minors of any age may work in any job on a farm owned or 
operated by their parents.  

OTHER UNLAWFUL EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES 

Applicant Criminal History 
In 2015, the Legislative Assembly adopted a “ban the box” measure to reduce barriers to 
employment for people with criminal records. An employer may not ask about a job applicant’s 
criminal convictions on an employment application or exclude an applicant from an initial 
interview based solely on the applicant’s past criminal convictions.32 An employer may ask about 

the candidate’s criminal convictions during an interview. 
If no interview is conducted, the employer may ask about 
criminal convictions only after making a conditional job 
offer. An employer may base a hiring decision on an 
applicant’s criminal history so long as the information was 
not obtained prior to the interview or, when no interview 
is conducted, prior to a conditional job offer. 

 
Whistleblower Protection 
It is an unlawful employment practice for public employers and nonprofits receiving public funds 
to take adverse action against employees or board members who respond to requests from 
legislators or legislative committees or who disclose information believed to be evidence of a 
violation of a federal, state, or local law, rule, or regulation; mismanagement; gross waste; misuse 
of funds; abuse of authority; or public endangerment resulting from actions of the public or 
nonprofit employer.33 These employers may not request or require an employee to give notice 
prior to blowing the whistle; nor may they discourage, coerce, or otherwise interfere with the 
employee’s whistleblowing disclosure. Effective January 1, 2017, whistleblowers have an affirmative 

                                                 
32 ORS 659A.360. 
33 ORS 659A.199. 
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defense to a civil or criminal charge related to the disclosure of lawfully accessed information 
related to the violation in certain circumstances.34  

Similar protections exist in the private sector for employees who have reported, in good faith, 
evidence of a violation of federal or state law, rule, or regulation. Any employee who believes that 
his or her employer has violated the law may file a complaint with BOLI or file a civil action in 
court.  

EMPLOYEE LEAVE  

Employee leave in Oregon is governed by both state and federal law. The federal Family and 
Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) overlap in some respects 
with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and with Oregon’s disability and workers’ 
compensation laws. For employees who are covered under both FMLA and OFLA, employers must 
allow leave under the law that is most beneficial to the employee. Leave that qualifies for both 
FMLA and OFLA counts concurrently towards the employee’s maximum leave time benefit under 
both laws. Because OFLA allows the employee to take leave for purposes that are not allowed 
under FMLA (e.g., bereavement leave), leave time taken under OFLA that is not allowed under 
FMLA cannot be counted against the employee’s 12-week FMLA entitlement. 

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act 

FMLA entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for 
specified family and medical reasons. 29 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq. The law requires companies with 50 
or more employees working in the United States to allow eligible employees to take up to 12 weeks 
of unpaid leave per year for the birth, adoption, or placement of a child; prenatal care or a 
pregnancy disability; their own serious health condition or that of an eligible family member; or a 
qualifying exigency arising from an eligible family member’s deployment; and up to 26 weeks to 
care for a seriously ill or injured service member or veteran.35 Employer-provided group health 
insurance may not be discontinued during the period of family leave.36 An employee returning 
from family leave must be restored to the employee’s previously held position or to an equivalent 
job if the former position no longer exists.37 An employer may not retaliate against an employee for 
inquiring about or taking family and medical leave.38 Employees who allege a violation of FMLA 
may file an administrative complaint or take their case to court.39  

                                                 
34 House Bill 4067 (2016); Chapter 73, 2016 Laws. 
35 29 U.S.C. § 2612. 
36 29 U.S.C. § 2614(c). 
37 29 U.S.C. § 2614(a). 
38 29 U.S.C. § 2615. 
39 29 U.S.C. § 2617. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Measures/Overview/HB4067
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2016orLaw0073.pdf
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To be eligible for FMLA leave, an employee must have worked for an employer for at least 12 
months and 1,250 hours during the preceding 12-month period.40 Approximately 59 percent of 
American workers are eligible for protected leave under FMLA.41 

Oregon Family Leave Act 

OFLA builds on FMLA protections, covering more workers, providing more qualifying reasons for 
leave, and expanding the definition of family members for whom an employee may take leave. 
Upon enactment in 1995, OFLA consolidated Oregon’s prior leave laws, including the Parental 
Leave Act (1987), Pregnancy Disability Act (1989), and Family Medical Leave Act (1991).  

OFLA requires companies that have 25 or more employees to provide eligible employees up to 12 
weeks of unpaid leave per year for specified purposes.42 Allowable purposes for leave under OFLA 
include all those covered by FMLA, except for those relating to military status, which are covered 
by a different Oregon statute.43 In addition, OFLA allows family leave to care for a child with an 
illness, injury, or condition that is not serious but requires home care, and up to two weeks for 
bereavement leave.44 An eligible employee who takes 12 weeks of family leave is also entitled to 
take another 12 weeks of leave for a disability related to pregnancy or childbirth.45 Employees who 
take 12 weeks of parental leave may also take an additional 12 weeks of sick child leave.46 
Employees must be allowed to use any accrued paid leave time for OFLA leave; employers may 
determine the order in which the accrued paid leave is to be used.47 Like under FMLA, employer-
provided group health insurance may not be discontinued while on OFLA leave, ORS 
659A.171(5)(b); an employee returning from OFLA leave must be restored to the employee’s 
previously held position or to an equivalent job if the former position no longer exists, ORS 
659A.171(1); and an employer may not retaliate against an employee for inquiring about or taking 
OFLA leave, ORS 659A.183(2). 

To be eligible for OFLA parental leave, an employee must have worked for an employer for at least 
180 days. For all other OFLA leave benefits, an employee must have worked at least 180 days and 
at least an average of 25 hours a week during the 180 days before leave begins.48  

Employees may allege a violation of OFLA by filing a complaint with BOLI or filing a civil 
action.49 

                                                 
40 29 U.S.C. § 2611. 
41 U.S. Department of Labor, “Family and Medical Leave in 2012: Technical Report” (Cambridge, MA: Abt Associates, Inc., 2014),  
<https://www.dol.gov/asp/evaluation/fmla/FMLA-2012-Technical-Report.pdf>, visited November 20, 2017.  
42 ORS 659A.153; ORS 659A.159; ORS 659A.162. 
43 ORS 659A.159. 
44 ORS 659A.159; ORS 659A.162. 
45 ORS 659A.162(3)(a). 
46 ORS 659A.162(3)(b). 
47 ORS 659A.174. 
48 ORS 659A.156. 
49 ORS 659A.820; ORS 659A.870. 

https://www.dol.gov/asp/evaluation/fmla/FMLA-2012-Technical-Report.pdf
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Oregon Military Family Leave Act 

The Oregon Military Family Leave Act (OMFLA) requires employers with 25 or more employees to 
provide an employee who is the spouse of an active duty member of the military up to 14 days of 
unpaid leave per deployment, which the employee may take before and during deployment. ORS 
659A.093(1). To qualify, an employee must have worked an average of at least 20 hours per week 
for an unspecified period and provide the employer notice within five days of receiving the 
spouse’s call to duty or leave from deployment.50 Leave taken under OMFLA counts toward the 12 
weeks of leave allowed under OFLA.51  

Mirroring FMLA and OFLA protections, employers cannot deny leave for qualified employees or 
discriminate or retaliate because an employee has inquired about or submitted a request for 
military family leave.52 The employee has an option to use accrued paid leave.53 As under OFLA, 
employees may allege a violation of OMFLA by filing a complaint with the Bureau of Labor and 
Industries or taking their case to court.54  

Leave for Victims of Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, or Stalking 

Oregon’s domestic violence leave law requires employers with six or more employees to provide 
reasonable time off to all employees who are victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual 
assault, or stalking, regardless of the number of hours worked per week or length of time worked 
for the employer.55 An employer may limit an employee’s duration of leave if it would create an 
undue hardship. 

Reasonable leave from work may be available for employees who need time off to address safety-
related matters such as court hearings, counseling sessions, moving to a safe home, or visiting a 
doctor. An employee may take leave to address the employee’s own safety-related matters or to 
assist a minor child or dependent in doing so. Employers may request certification that the person 
is a victim, including a police report, restraining order, stalking order, or other type of court order, 
or letter or note from other professionals. Employers must keep confidential any records regarding 
a safety accommodation or leave request. 

Employees who are victims of domestic violence may use any accrued paid leave to take time off 
from work for purposes related to domestic violence. 

Sick Leave 

Under the state’s paid sick leave law, Oregon employees of covered employers are entitled to 
accrue and use sick time for preventative care; care for a new family member; care for their own or 

                                                 
50 ORS 659A.090(1); ORS 659A.093(3). 
51 ORS 659A.093(5). 
52 ORS 659A.096(2). 
53 ORS 659A.093(4). 
54 ORS 659A.820; ORS 659A.870. 
55 ORS 659A.270. 
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a family member’s mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; grieving a family 
member’s death; or handling matters related to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking. 
Covered employers must allow employees to accrue and use one hour of sick leave for every 30 
hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours per year.56 The accrued leave used must be paid at 
the employee’s regular rate of pay if an employer has at least 10 workers, or at least six employees 
working anywhere in the state if the employer is located in Portland.  

Employees must provide notice of intent to use sick leave when the need is foreseeable. Employers 
may require medical verification of the need for sick leave under certain circumstances, but must 
pay reasonable costs to obtain a required medical verification. Employers may not require 
employees to find a replacement or work an alternative shift when using accrued sick leave. The 
law prohibits retaliation or discrimination against employees who inquire about or use sick leave. 
Employees who allege a violation may file a complaint with BOLI or take their case to court.  

Effective July 1, 2017, Senate Bill 299 clarifies that an employer may limit employees to 40 hours 
of sick time accrual per year, and may adopt a policy limiting employees from accruing more than a 
total of 80 hours of sick time and from using more than 40 hours in a year. The measure also 
modifies the rate of pay for accrued sick leave by employees paid on a piece-rate or commission 
basis and exempts employers with adequate alternate time-off policies from complying with the 
sick time requirements after the first 40 hours that the employer’s policy provides per year. 

WORKPLACE SAFETY  

Safe and Healthy Workplace 

The Oregon Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration Division (OR-OSHA) of the 
Department of Consumer and Business 
Services administers the Oregon Safe 
Employment Act of 1973 (OSEA).57 The 
OSEA requires that employers provide safe 
and healthy workplaces for their employees 
and ensure that workers have the necessary 
training and equipment to do their jobs 
safely. Employers are required to post a notice 
from OR-OSHA that outlines employees’ 
rights under the OSEA. 

OR-OSHA enforces minimum occupational safety and health standards for all industries. It 
provides no-cost consultations and training to Oregon employers to assist them in complying with 

                                                 
56 See ORS 653.606-ORS 653.661. 
57 ORS 654.001 to 654.295, 654.412 to 654.423, 654.750 to 654.780 and 654.991. 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/SB299
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occupational safety and health requirements. It operates a resource center and library of training 
videos, periodicals, and research publications. 

OR-OSHA also conducts unannounced inspections and accident investigations to determine 
whether employers are complying with safety and health requirements. It may issue citations with 
civil penalties to employers who violate OSEA requirements. Additionally, OR-OSHA requires 
employers to correct identified hazards; the division may stop work on worksites that pose an 
imminent danger to workers. 

No employer may retaliate or discriminate against employees or prospective employees because 
they have opposed unsafe or unhealthy working conditions, or have complained or assisted in an 
occupational safety and health proceeding under state law. Employees may file civil rights 
complaints or civil suits if they believe that an employer has discriminated against them because 
they opposed safety or health hazards. An individual alleging such discrimination may file a 
complaint with BOLI’s Civil Rights Division within 90 days of the time that the individual had 
reason to believe that an illegal action occurred. 

Workers’ Compensation 

Workers’ compensation insurance pays for workers’ medical treatment and lost wages on accepted 
claims when workers suffer work-related injuries and illnesses.58 Workers’ compensation insurance 
also protects employers by shielding them from liability lawsuits that might result from work-
related injuries or illnesses.  

The Workers’ Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer and Business Services 
administers and regulates laws and rules that affect the participants in the Oregon workers’ 
compensation system. The division oversees programs and services that help ensure timely and 
appropriate medical treatment and time-loss benefits to injured workers, while helping keep costs 
and burdens low for Oregon employers. The division also administers return-to-work programs 
that help injured workers return to their previous jobs or find new employment.  

Oregon employers that have one or more employees, full or part-time, must carry workers’ 
compensation insurance or be self-insured. Employers pay premiums to workers’ compensation 
insurance companies, and those premiums finance most of the benefits received by workers who 
are injured or suffer an occupational disease on the job. If a dispute concerning a claim arises, an 
insurer or injured worker may request mediation services, a hearing, or an administrative review. 

The Office of the Ombudsman for Injured Workers serves as an independent advocate for injured 
workers by helping them to understand their rights and responsibilities, investigating complaints, 
and acting to resolve those complaints. The ombudsman also provides educational and 

                                                 
58 Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, “Oregon Workers’ Compensation, Frequently Asked 
Questions,” <http://wcd.oregon.gov/Publications/5126.pdf>, visited November 20, 2017. 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/Publications/5126.pdf
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informational seminars to labor groups, employers, insurance companies, and others interested in 
workers’ issues. 

The Office of the Small Business Ombudsman for Workers’ Compensation serves as an 
independent advocate for small businesses, entrepreneurs, and their professional advisers. The 
office provides guidance on workers’ compensation coverage requirements, shopping for workers’ 
compensation insurance, navigating disputes with insurance companies, and understanding their 
rights and responsibilities under the workers’ compensation laws. 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 

Congress enacted the nation’s unemployment insurance (UI) program in 1935 as part of the Social 
Security Act (SSA) in response to the Great Depression. The program is a federal-state partnership 
with oversight by the U.S. Department of Labor. The SSA provides grants to states with laws that 
meet federal requirements for administering the UI program and overseeing the payment of 
benefits. UI benefits replace part of the income lost when workers become unemployed through 
no fault of their own.  

UI eligibility requirements and benefits are set by state law. Eligibility is based on the amount of 
wages earned and number of hours worked by the claimant during the year prior to filing. As of 
July 2, 2017, the minimum weekly benefit is $141, and the maximum weekly benefit is $604. A 
claimant is eligible to receive up to 26 weeks of benefits during a 52-week benefit year, and may be 
eligible to receive benefits for additional weeks if state or federal extensions apply.  

UI benefits are paid out of the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund. The fund is financed by 
employer payroll taxes that are set according to an annual self-adjusting rate schedule. The UI 
Trust Fund maintains a balance based on statutory requirements tied to the solvency of the fund, 
and no contributions are from employee wages. Oregon is nationally recognized as having a 
solvent UI Trust Fund and was one of the few that remained solvent during the Great Recession. 

RETIREMENT BENEFITS 

Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) 

The Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) enables public employers to provide their 
employees with retirement benefits. State government, public schools, community colleges, and 
many local governments participate in PERS, covering approximately 925 employers and about 95 
percent of all public employees in Oregon. PERS contains approximately 347,000 members, 
including 168,000 active, 43,000 inactive, and 136,000 retired employees. Approximately 32 
percent of members are currently eligible to retire with full benefits due to age or years of service. 

PERS is a hybrid pension plan that includes a defined benefit plan and a defined contribution 
plan. Upon retirement, all PERS members receive both a life pension (defined benefit) and the 

http://www.oregon.gov/pers/Pages/index.aspx
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balance of the member’s individual account (defined contribution). The calculation of a member’s 
pension benefit varies by type of membership plan.  

The Individual Account Program (IAP) is funded through a required employee contribution of six 
percent of members’ salaries. Under that program, all active member contributions are placed into 
members’ individual accounts. Earnings and losses are credited annually to IAP accounts, and they 
are subject to earnings and losses until the member removes the funds. At retirement, a member 
may receive the amount in their IAP account as a lump-sum payment or in equal installments over 
a specified number of years. 

Oregon State Retirement Plan 

OregonSaves is a new way for Oregonians in the private sector to save for retirement at work. 
Before OregonSaves was established, about one million workers in Oregon had no retirement 
option at work. To address this, the Legislative Assembly created OregonSaves, which began 
enrolling employers in a pilot phase in July 2017 and will roll out in phases, starting in 2018 with 
larger businesses and over time to smaller businesses.59 

Under the OregonSaves program, employees contribute part of their paycheck into their own 
personal Roth IRAs that stay with them throughout their careers. The employer cannot contribute 
to the employee’s IRA. Employers will register employees for the plan unless the employee chooses 
to opt-out. Employees can access their account any time, opt-out at any time, and change 
investment types and their contribution rate. They can also withdraw their contributions without a 
penalty. The program is overseen by the Oregon Retirement Savings Board (a part of the Oregon 
State Treasury) and administered by a plan service provider under contract with the Oregon State 
Treasury. 

LABOR RELATIONS 

Unions organize workers to bargain with employers for favorable working conditions and wages, 
and they also seek to influence public policy for the benefit of workers. Collective bargaining is the 
process by which unions ask for improvements in wages, hours, and working conditions of 
represented employees. In 1933, the Oregon Legislative Assembly codified the principle that 
workers have the right to organize to improve their working conditions and refuse to work until 
grievances are addressed, free from retaliation.60  

 

                                                 
59 State of Oregon, Oregon Saves website, <http://www.oregon.gov/retire/Pages/index.aspx>, visited December 19, 
2017. 
60 Agricultural workers were expressly excluded from collective bargaining under the 1933 legislation. In 1997, the 
Oregon Court of Appeals held in Rauda v. Oregon Roses (147 Or App 106, 1997) that, based on legislative policy in 
ORS chapters 661 and 662, "concerted activities" of farmworkers, including discussion of wages and working 
conditions, are protected by state law. However, the Oregon Supreme Court subsequently dismissed the case, leaving 
some question as to the applicability of collective bargaining law to agricultural labor. 

http://www.oregon.gov/retire/Pages/index.aspx
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Union Security Agreements 

The National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), enacted in 1935, allows employers and unions to enter 
into union security agreements requiring all employees in a bargaining unit to become union 
members and pay union dues. Employees who object to full union membership may continue as 
“core” members and pay only that share of dues used directly for representation.  

The federal Taft-Hartley Act of 1947 amended the NLRA, authorizing states to ban union security 
agreements. States that have adopted this policy are referred to as “right-to-work” states. However, 
effective June 14, 2017, Senate Bill 1040 (2017) establishes that private-sector labor organizations 
and employers in Oregon may enter into union security agreements requiring membership in 
labor organizations as a condition of employment to the full extent allowed by federal law.  

Limits on Organizing 

Some public employees are prohibited from organizing, including elected officials, persons 
appointed to serve on boards or commissions, certain incarcerated persons, and persons who are 
confidential employees, supervisory employees, or managerial employees. Effective January 1, 
2018, academic faculty members of a public university or the Oregon Health and Science 
University may organize and collectively bargain with their employer.61 

Governance of Labor Relations 

Federal laws establish and enforce good-faith collective bargaining requirements on unions and 
employers. The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) has jurisdiction over most non-
government employers with a workplace in the United States. Private-sector employees who are not 
subject to NLRB jurisdiction, including all agricultural employees, are governed by state labor 
relations laws in ORS chapter 663, enforced by the Oregon Employment Relations Board (ERB). 
The ERB also administers the collective bargaining law that covers Oregon public employees and 
adjudicates appeals from state employees concerning personnel actions. 

Membership Rates 

Nationwide, union membership shrunk by nearly one-tenth between 2000 and 2016, with roughly 
10.7 percent of employed wage and salary workers as union members in 2016.62 Oregon’s union 
membership rate peaked in 1989, when it averaged 21.6 percent, and reached its lowest point in 
2016 at 13.5 percent. Since 1989, when comparable state data became available, union 
membership rates in Oregon have been above the U.S. average. 63  

                                                 
61 House Bill 3170 (2017); Chapter 553, 2017 Laws.  
62 State of Oregon Employment Department, “Oregon’s Union Membership” (May 4, 2017), 
<https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/oregon-s-union-membership>, visited November 16, 2017. 
63 United States Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics, “Union Members in Oregon—2016,” 
<https://www.bls.gov/regions/west/news-release/unionmembership_oregon.htm>, visited November 16, 2017.  

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/Overview/HB3170
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0553.pdf
https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/oregon-s-union-membership
https://www.bls.gov/regions/west/news-release/unionmembership_oregon.htm
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The following chart prepared by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics illustrates changes in union 
membership as a percentage of the workforce in the United States and Oregon between 2006 and 
2016. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Union membership rates are substantially higher in Oregon’s public sector than private sector, 
with a peak of 18.7 percent membership in private employment (1984) and 60.7 percent in public 

employment (1995).64 
However, the proportion 
in overall numbers of 
Oregon’s union members 
in each sector has been 
similar since 2000.65 The 
following chart prepared 
by the State of Oregon 
Employment Department 
compares public and 
private shares of total 
union membership in 
Oregon between 2000 and 
2016. 

 

State of Oregon Employment Department, “Oregon’s Union Membership” (May 4, 2017), <https://www.qualityinfo.org/-

/oregon-s-union-membership>, visited November 16, 2017. 

                                                 
64 State of Oregon Employment Department, “Oregon’s Union Membership” (May 4, 2017), 
<https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/oregon-s-union-membership>, visited November 16, 2017. 
65 Id. 

https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/oregon-s-union-membership
https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/oregon-s-union-membership
https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/oregon-s-union-membership
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